Betty Lightning – Barnacle Bay’s Beginning 1.0

Hi Friends!  GUESS WHAT?!?  I’m starting something new.  Now don’t you worry, those Zales are still top priority!  But see, I went out and bought a physical copy of Movie Stuff (If you recall, I downloaded it through Origin, and it wouldn’t work, so I got a refund) and I also found Barnacle Bay!  Well, I really wanted to play with my new things, and the Zales aren’t ready for a move at this time.  ALSO, I had an idea for a new thing I wanted to try.  I thought it up all on my own, but I know it’s not original, it’s a bit of a take on CynicalBadger’s Short/Goth/Sharp Alphabetcy.  I call it a Lightning Alphabetcy, and to read the rules, click my RULES page (which I totally just made).  So!  Shall we begin!?!  I think so!

MEET THE FOUNDER:
Betty Lightning!
Screenshot-1
She is a randomly generated Sim with a few tweaks to make her FABULOUS.
LTW: Master Acrobat
Loves to Swim, Daredevil, Computer Whiz, Friendly and Excitable
She likes French Toast, the color Green, and Pop Music.  She is a Capricorn.

We bought a lot!
Screenshot

Time is ticking, so we need to find a spouse!  Why this is a quaint little home…
Screenshot-2
I wonder who lives here!?!

Why, that Sim looks familiar!
Screenshot-3
Could it be… Abraham Zale!?!  WOW!

We wanted to greet him, but apparently he works at the consignment shop, so he was too busy to say hello.
Screenshot-4
That’s okay though, he’s not eligible for spouse anyway, but it’s SO nice to see him!

Oh look.  A llama is coming.
Screenshot-5
Betty went to greet him too, but he vaporized.

Since Betty loves to swim, I thought we’d head to the beach to spouse hunt and have a quick dip in the ocean!
Screenshot-6
But it’s deserted!  We can’t spouse hunt here!

But we can’t deny our founder a brief swim.
Screenshot-7
Aw.

HARK!  A MALE!
Screenshot-8
His name is Felix Soto, he’s old, but that can still work, besides, she could always remarry after he passes – let’s say hello!

With this lovely, scantily clad woman in front of him, he barely bats an eye…
Screenshot-9
We learn he’s Family Oriented and married to a woman named Mary – well, we can’t mess THAT up.

They gossip for a moment and…
Zale Gossip
HEY NOW!  You do NOT talk about one of the finest legacy founder’s in Simming history that way!  Even if it’s true.  And even if it was true of the Original Abe in Aurora Skies.  You know, Ms. Betty, you aren’t exactly rolling in the Simoleans yourself!

We’ll have to see who else is out there, shall we?  But before Betty burned to death from the hot sun, I built her a little cottage over looking the sea.
Screenshot-10
So that’s about as good as I can do, so there you have it!  Casa de Lightning!

A quick shot of the interior:
Screenshot-11

And it’s time to find a job!
Screenshot-12
Just so happens, there was a juggler position available!  We pounce on it and are now working on the Acrobat career!  Her stage name is — wait for it — Alpha Betty
Ba-dum-tish
(I only named her Betty to use this joke.)

We head to the park to perform for tips and we spot a male!
Screenshot-13
His name is Jeff Smith, I’m sorry it’s so dark.

While Betty talks to Jeff, this dude with a purple mullet, Dude La Mer (yes, that’s his name) creeps.
Screenshot-14

We make sure to meet him too, you can’t have too many options early on!
Screenshot-15
NOTE: I totally wanted Dude La Mer in this legacy.  HIS NAME IS DUDE AND HE HAS A PURPLE MULLET, but he rejected all of Betty’s advances. Damn.

Betty made $13.00 in tips, and we headed home.
Screenshot-16
I LOVE BETTY LIGHTNING!

I got a pop up about the Summer Festival, and off we go!  I plan on spouse hunting and performing for tips!
Screenshot-17
But then I saw flowers and remembered you can sell them for MONEY!  So we pick some.

Screenshot-18
She is so fantastic!

I stopped controlling her for two seconds to scope out the spouse potential, and when I went back to her, she’d joined an eating contest!
Screenshot-19
Since she was hungry, I let her eat.  Boy next to her is only a teen, I checked.

But fine times are over, so we mime for tips!
Screenshot-20
She’s actually quite good.
Screenshot-21
And hilarious.  I love her.

The next day, we invite Jeff Smith over (after Dude rejected her).
Screenshot-22

Let’s get this going!
Screenshot-23
Everything was going swimmingly, but then he just got too sleepy.

Betty invited him to sleep over.
Screenshot-24
And he did, but not until after he broke the toilet.

I woke Betty up extra early to make him breakfast before he left.  Betty works her own hours, so I figured she could sleep later.
Screenshot-25

After rolling a want for a stove, Betty now has the necessary equipment to make her beau waffles!
Screenshot-26
Uh oh.

I was totally worried, but Betty?  She’s THRILLED!
Screenshot-27
Stupid Daredevil Sim!  Even though she’s unbelievably adorable.

Ha ha, faulty fire extinguisher.
Screenshot-28
I have not had an in game fire since Abraham cooked for Angelica.  That’s MONTHS.  It was kind of fun!

Betty: I’m SO HUNGRY!
Screenshot-29
I’m sure you are.  Your breakfast is floor ashes now.  Make more.

Jeff wakes up and plays video games while Betty makes her second batch.
Screenshot-30

Jeff, unimpressed by her domestic skills, leaves before she can finish.
Screenshot-31
Bye Jeff.

Nice Betty.  Those look delicious.
Screenshot-32

You’re about to starve to death, so we’re not making a third batch.  Eat them.
Screenshot-33
Apparently I should have specified “Eat them at the table.”  Hopefully you learn your lesson.

Then we head back to the park to make some more money!
Screenshot-34
Finances are pretty desperate.

She got a great crowd, and they watched and clapped politely for AGES…
Screenshot-35
…but no one tipped.  Grr.

Jeff, as it turns out, is obnoxious.  He NEVER wants to come over, tells her he either “Doesn’t feel like it.” or to “Try him again in five hours”.  Stupid Sims with jobs.  But we FINALLY got him to come back over, and I could FEEL the clock ticking.
Screenshot-36
They look thrilled.  HA.

HUZZAH!
Screenshot-37
Then he immediately left.  Awesome.  😐

Betty notices a raccoon on her lot, and wants to pet it!  Aw!
Screenshot-38
Raccoon is having none of it, however.

Betty gets an opportunity to audition for a job at the park!
Screenshot-39
HA HA HA!
Screenshot-40
You mime gurl!

YAY, we got it!
ha ha, alpha betty
Hur hur hur!  Alpha Betty!  Har dee har har!

Back at home, and after constantly calling Jeff every five minutes, we FINALLY have a boyfriend.
Screenshot-41
This was almost as painful as Abraham’s attempts.  Almost.

Jeff still kept dodging her, and I even tried Dude again, but to no avail.  THEN!  Friday, the day of her scheduled gig, Jeff invites her to a party!  Gig first!
Screenshot-42
She had a pretty good crowd, and she did alright, but then things started going South.  She got a poor performance moodlet, but still made a desperately needed $200.00

Then we immediately head off to Jeff’s party.  There was one other guy there standing in the living room playing the guitar.  The party started at 9:03pm (no seriously, that’s what the invite said) so Jeff was already tired when she got there.  Betty spammed romantic actions until he was about to pass out, then asked if she could stay over.  She did, then woke up, and prepared breakfast for him!
Screenshot-43
So this is breakfast at Jeff’s house.  Now that I had watched him sleep, eat, and go to the bathroom I knew his needs were mostly good!  Betty follows him into his bathroom and…
Screenshot-44
Screenshot-45
(Green plumbob over Jeff’s shoulder is Betty’s reflection… that entire wall of his bathroom is one of those giant mirrors.)  He says YES!

Betty runs home and immediately invites him over.  TIME IS TICKING!
Screenshot-46
INSTANT LIVING ROOM PRIVATE WEDDING!

Meet Jeff Lightning!
Screenshot-47
He’s Ambitious, Charismatic, Easily Impressed, Neat and a Schmoozer. His LTW is The Perfect Aquarium, which based off his traits confused the heck outta me.  He is employed LEVEL 3 in politics, so we instantly quit per the rules.  He likes fried peanut butter and banana sandwiches, electronica, and the color black.
HE ALSO HAS THREE OTHER ROMANTIC INTERESTS
dina and ninajasmine
Dina              Nina            Jasmine
LOOK!  It’s the Caliente Sisters!  I had so many fun play sessions with them in TS2.  So fun.  They look pretty good too!  I never saw them in game, but yeah… awesome.
Jeff is mysterious.  He has relationships like a Heartbreaker, an LTW of an Angler, and traits of a Leader of the Free World.  Oh well, I’m just happy he’s HERE, time is of the essence!

And now.  For the first time in SO LONG.  I can control more than one Sim.

I’m just going to let that sink in.


……

I can control more than one Sim!
I had almost forgotten you could even DO that!
Jeff broke the TV.
Screenshot-48
HA HA HA!  I CAN MAKE JEFF FIX THE TV!
Screenshot-49
YESSSS!!
Seriously – this was so wonderful.

Then I sent Betty out for a night time jog.
Screenshot-50

But the camera zoomed home all of a sudden!
Screenshot-51
TV is still broken!  OMG, did he die?  Is he electrocuted?  JEFF!?!

HA NOPE!
Screenshot-52
He’s just having a birthday!

HOLY CRAP IT’S THIS BIRTHDAY!
Screenshot-53
He’s old.
OH WELL
FIX THE TV LIKE I TOLD YOU!
Screenshot-54
Thank you.

After abusing him for his Neat trait, and having him clean the house in two simple clicks, I rewarded him with some fishing.
Screenshot-55
Old men should fish, and it IS his LTW.

Betty stops in the middle of making pancakes to POP!
Screenshot-56

With the money Jeff brought in, around $10,000 we were able to build a nursery!
Screenshot-57

Betty rolls a wish for a rocking chair, a wish to USE a rocking chair, and a wish to read a pregnancy book.
Screenshot-58
BAM!  Multitasking!

Babybump!
Screenshot-59
Hopefully Jeff will live long enough to make another one!

Now that Betty is married and pregnant, two crucial elements of any legacy, I go looking for Mr. Zale so we can say hello!  It’s been ages.  But his house is empty.  I go to check the graveyard, but he’s not there either.  Dang.

But then it’s BABY TIME!
Screenshot-60

It’s a BOY!  Aaaannndd… I didn’t get any pictures.  Way to start the second challenge Heather.  Good job.  He rolls Friendly and Perceptive.  I name him Abraham ❤

Betty: Hey.  Hey.  Hey husband.  Hey.  Quit eating
Screenshot-61
My womb is empty.

Betty and Jeff then Woohoo’d six ways from Sunday, and I never heard a jingle!  So is that it?  We only get ONE letter out of the first generation?  TERRIBLE.

Will Betty and Jeff only have one child?  Will Betty need to “think outside the box” for any B or C children?  I know her adult birthday is right around the corner, and desperate times call for desperate measures!  Come back soon to see what happens next!  Until next time, catch up on those Zales! Happy Simming!

19 thoughts on “Betty Lightning – Barnacle Bay’s Beginning 1.0

  1. Pingback: Shameless Plug | Zale Family ISBI – Alphabetcy

  2. laserkatt

    AHHHH I LOVE IT 😀 So much fun 8D Betty is really pretty and I love her eye colour :3 I laughed a stupid amount when I read why you named her that. I mean. A lot. It’s very early in the morning here ._.
    And I genuinely made a tiny squeal when I saw Abe coming out of the house, it’s so exciting to see him again x3 I hope he hasn’t died yet D;

    Anyway, shame about Dude La Mer, his name and his mullet are truly fine characteristics, but judging by the picture you have up there, he’s also completely pissed. BUT THEN WHY WOULD HE REJECT THE ADVANTAGES OF A BEAUTIFUL WOMAN?! *dam-dam-daaam*

    I want to say so much more, but my bf is nagging me to get off the computer, because we’re supposed to go somewhere. Gee.
    ;D
    Anyway, the wallpaper in the nursery is the same as Loki’s underwear. Because I thought Loki having cats on his butt would be funny o/
    I’ll have more of the Zales and this please, thank you kindly. ❤

    Reply
    1. Heather Post author

      Ha ha ha ha! You make me laugh so much! I was so excited to Plop Abraham down in town, but then he vanished! Dude La Mer would have been epic, but Jeff has turned out to be a lot of fun to have around too! Loki’s Undies/Nursery Wallpaper FTW!

      Reply
  3. cynicalbadger

    Thanks for the mention ❤

    Short lifespans are hella fun right? So much to do so little time! If you get more than one A baby I will be so impressed! Sometimes when it's a few days before birthdays getting a jingle is tricky. I'm sure you'll get a jingle after her adult birthday 😀

    Reply
    1. Heather Post author

      You were so right, as soon as she had her adult birthday, I was successful getting a new NooBoo started, so thank you! There will only be one A baby, the next baby will be a B, and so on and so forth. It should go super fast!

      Reply
      1. Echo Weaver

        I noticed that you were doing the one-baby-per-letter kind of Alphabetacy on your About page. That’s the kind of Alphabetacy I’m doing with the Wonderland ISBI. I like it better. I can’t do 26 generations of anything :).

      2. Heather Post author

        I really hope I can complete all 26 generations of Zales. With the I’s in the womb, I have hope… but then I continue the alphabet in my head “j, k, l, m, n, o, p, q, r, s, t, u, (OMG IT’S SO LONG) v, w, x, y, z!” I’M NEVER GOING TO MAKE IT.

  4. Echo Weaver

    “My womb is empty” Bwahahaha!

    Another quick alphabetacy! This has got to be the best way to actually make it through the alphabet. I’ll never do an alphabetacy because it would take the rest of my natural life. On my quick ISBI, I’m only doing two generations a year.

    Betty is SOOOO ADORABLE! I’m not even quite sure what it is about her, but now I’m sad it’s a short lifespan because she’ll be gone in a blink.

    Reply
    1. Heather Post author

      I know! I’m bummed about the short lifespan, because Betty is spectacular! My regular alphabetcy is definitely going to take far longer, but the Zales are making good progress!

      Reply
  5. Miss Wingless

    … 😀 I gotta catch up on this, cause it was amazing to read! 😀 Love Betty there, very pretty and I adore her already 😀 Oh fun, she married the towns casanova XD What a lucky strike!
    And awie, nice to see Abraham there again, creeping around town :3 Me like.
    HAHA!! My womb is empty! XP Oh Betty, you have already wrapped me around your tiny simfinger. 🙂

    Reply
  6. somebodysangel13

    This is amazing, why did I not see this before? Alpha Betty is genius. Very impressed that you allowed your founder to have a profession, that is a painful way to start a legacy/challenge/any game. So little money at the beginning. Betty is gorgeous, love the green eyes!

    Reply
    1. Heather Post author

      It’s in my rules! She has to have a profession or a part time job… I love her too! I’m glad you’re enjoying them – it’s kind of a side project that I’ve been neglecting.

      Reply

Leave a comment